Coconut Roll Photo - thumb
Coconut Roll Photo - thumb

2014 Calgary Stampede Rodeo Contestants Announced

Calgary – The pro rodeo trails lead to Calgary once again in 2014. A total of 120 of the world’s top rodeo cowboys and cowgirls have earned their way to the richest outdoor rodeo in the world – the $2 million Calgary Stampede. 


“The Calgary Stampede Rodeo is a showcase for rodeo’s elite. The competitors you see earned their way here by being the World’s best,” says Keith Marrington, director of rodeo for the Calgary Stampede. “These elite athletes know they can earn a $100,000 paycheque on our million dollar Sunday Showdown.”


Again this year, some of the greatest rodeo names in the world are back – including home-grown talent like Alberta’s own Kyle Bowers, Dusty LaValley and Jake Vold in Bareback, brothers Curtis and Cody Cassidy in Tie-Down Roping and Steer Wrestling respectively, Chad Besplug and Scotty Schiffner in Bull Riding and one of Alberta’s most competitive barrel racers, Kirsty White. Also, rodeo superstars from across North America have accepted Calgary’s invitation – names like reigning World Champions Kaycee Feild, Hunter Cure, Chad Ferley, Shane Hanchey, J.B. Mauney and Sherry Cervi. In fact, all six defending Calgary Stampede 2013 champions have accepted their invitations to return to in 2014.


The trek north to the Calgary Stampede continues to be a coveted invite that attracts the world’s top ladies barrel racers and bull riders. These Stampede events are sanctioned by the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association and the Professional Bull Riders, meaning the points won here are included in the yearly standings for those organizations. That makes the Stampede a valuable event to these cowgirls and bull riders looking to add to their world standings.


A complete list of this year’s competitors in bareback, saddle bronc, steer wrestling, tie-down roping, ladies barrel racing and bull riding is included in the attached Backgrounder.


As we enter our second century, the Calgary Stampede celebrates the people, the animals, the land, the traditions and the values that make up the unique spirit of the west. The Calgary Stampede contributes to the quality of life in Calgary and southern Alberta through our world-renowned 10-day Stampede, year-round facilities, western events and several youth and agriculture programs. Exemplifying the theme “We’re Greatest Together”; we are a volunteer-supported, not-for-profit community organization that preserves and promotes western heritage and values. All revenue is reinvested into Calgary Stampede programs and facilities.


- 30 -


For more information, please contact:

Bonni Clark

Corporate Communications

T 403.261.0196

C 403.837.3663









2014 Calgary Stampede Rodeo: Contestant List

Saddle Bronc Riding

Tyler Corrington - Guymon OK

Jacobs Crawley – Stephenville TX

Sterling Crawley – Stephenville TX

Heith DeMoss – Heflin LA

Isaac Diaz – Desdemona TX

Cole Elshere – Faith SD

Chad Ferley- Oelrichs SD

Dustin Flundra – Pincher Creek AB

Rylan Geiger – Duchess AB

Chet Johnson – Douglas WY

Sam Kelts – Millarville AB

Taos Muncy – Corona NM

Cort Scheer – Elsmere NE

Wade Sundell – Boxholm IA

Cody Wright – Milford UT

Jesse Wright – Milford, UT

Jake Wright – Milford UT

Cody DeMoss – Helfin LA

Brad Harter – Loranger LA

Luke Butterfield - Ponoka AB

Bareback Riding

Caleb Bennett – Morgan UT

Kyle Bowers – Brooks AB

Clint Cannon – Waller TX

Casey Colletti – Pueblo CO

Jessy Davis – Power MT

Kaycee Feild – Spanish Fork UT

Ryan Gray – Petersburg TX

Logan Hodson – Hudson Hope BC

Matt Lait – Cayley AB

Dusty LaValley – Bezanson AB

Clint Laye – Cadogan AB

Will Lowe – Canyon TX

Bobby Mote – Stephenville TX

Steven Peebles – Redmond OR

Wes Stevenson – Lubbock TX

J.R. Vezain – Cowley WY

Jake Vold – Ponoka AB

Richie Champion – Woodlands TX

Luke Creasy – Brownfield AB

Austin Foss – Redmond OR

Tie-Down Roping

Nathan Baldwin – Blackfoot ID

Al Bouchard – Scandia AB

Trevor Brazile – Decatur TX

Bradley Bynum – Sterling City TX

Curtis Cassidy – Donalda AB

Tuf Cooper – Decatur TX

Clif Cooper – Decatur TX

Tyson Durfey – Colbert WA

Morgan Grant – Granton ON

Shane Hanchey – Sulpher LA

Ryan Jarrett – Comanche OK

Chad Johnson – Del Bonita AB

Sterling Smith – Stephenville TX

Timber Moore – Aubrey TX

Cody Ohl – Hico TX
Shane Slack – Idabel OK

Caleb Smidt – Bellveille TX

Matt Shiozawa – Chubbuck ID

Fred Whitfield – Hockley – TX

Clint Robinson – Spanish Fork UT

Steer Wrestling

Bray Armes – Ponder TX

Stan Branco – Pilot Point TX

Luke Branquinho - Los Alamos CA

Cody Cassidy – Donalda AB

Hunter Cure – Holliday TX

Dakota Eldridge – Elko NV

Dean Gorsuch – Gering NE

Morgan Grant – Granton ON

Jule Hazen – Ashland KS

Trevor Knowles - Mt Vernon OR

Casey Martin – Sulpher LA

Straws Milan – Cochrane AB

Justin Miller - Neepawa MB

Clayton Moore – Pouce Coupe BC

Tyler Pearson – Independence LA

Matt Reeves – Cross Plains TX

Wade Sumpter – Fowler CO

Jake Rinehart – Highmore SD

Billy Bugenig – Ferndale CA

Olin Hannum – Malad UT

Ladies Barrel Racing

Kaley Bass – Kissimmee FL

Sherry Cervi – Marana AZ

Trula Churchill – Valentine NE

Britany Diaz – Bismarck ND

Taylor Jacob – Carmine TX

Laura Kennedy – Quitman AR

Sabrina Ketcham – Yeso NM

Lisa Lockhart – Oelrichs SD

Brenda Mays – Terrebonne OR

Michele McLeod – Whitesboro TX

Brittany Pozzi – Victoria TX

Kim Schulze – Larkspur CO

Mary Walker – Ennis TX

Kirsty White – Big Valley AB

Jean Winters – Texline TX

Nancy Hunter – Neola UT

Shelly Anzick – Livingston MT

Fallon Taylor – Whitesboro TX

Jana Bean – Ft Hancock TX

Gretchen Benbenek - Aubrey TX

Bull Riding

Claudio Crisostomo – Lopes Da Silva, Brazil

Chase Outlaw – Hamburg AR

Chad Besplug – Claresholm AB

Dakota Buttar – Kindersey SK

Tanner Byrne – Prince Albert, SK

Marco Eguchi – Poa Sao Paulo Brazil

Tanner Girletz – Bowden AB

Cooper Davis – Jasper TX

L.J. Jenkins – Porum OK

Josh Koshel – Nunn CO

Zane Lambert – Ponoka AB

Mike Lee – Ft Worth TX

Jory Markiss – Stephenville TX

J.B. Mauney – Mooresville NC

Cody Nance – Paris TN

Shane Proctor – Troutman NC

Scott Schiffner – Strathmore AB

Tyler Smith – Fruita CO

Cody Teel – Kountze TX

Joao Ricardo Vieira –Brazil