World’s top rodeo champions will buckle up for 2015 Calgary Stampede

Calgary – The Calgary Stampede is thrilled to announce the roster for this year’s Calgary Stampede Rodeo. Fans attending the 10 days of rodeo competition will see the best rodeo athletes from around the globe. This year’s competitors have earned their way to Calgary by being the elite of the sport, and as a group share more than 80 world title wins, over 50 Canadian champion titles and more than 30 past Calgary Stampede bronze trophy wins.


“We’re extremely proud to announce to our fans the exceptional roster of contestants who have accepted an invitation to compete at this year’s Stampede,” says Paul Pidde, Chair of the Stampede’s Rodeo committee. “When you look at the championship hardware these cowboys and cowgirls have earned, it’s pretty clear that pro rodeo’s best will be gathering in Calgary.”


The talent includes legends such as Trevor Brazile who will be sporting his latest All-Around World Champion buckle, which is one of the 21 he has to choose from. Trevor holds more world titles than any other professional athlete in sports. “Whether you’re a longtime rodeo fan or are visiting Stampede for your very first time it is easy to appreciate the talent, skill and determination that it takes to win 21 world titles,” says Robert Wise, director of western events for the Calgary Stampede. “And when you match up that kind of talent in each rodeo discipline with the elite caliber of four-legged super stars the Stampede brings in, we have a level of competition that’s simply unmatched.”


Other multiple-time World Champions coming to Calgary include Kaycee Feild, Cody Wright, Fred Whitfield, Sherry Cervi, and JW Harris, all of whom will take a run at the $100,000 grand prize in each of the six Rodeo disciplines. Canada is not short on national titles represented at this year’s Stampede with over 50 Canadian titles won between all the competitors. Returning Stampede and Canadian Champion Scott Schiffner will be joined by the likes of Curtis Cassidy, Tanner Milan, Chad Besplug, Dustin Flundra, Dusty LaValley and many more just as noteworthy with a good collection of Championship buckles.


The trek to the Calgary Stampede continues to be a coveted invite that attracts the world’s top ladies barrel racers and bull riders. These Stampede events are sanctioned by the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association and the Professional Bull Riders, meaning the points won here are included in the yearly standings for those organizations. That makes the Stampede a must-not-miss event for these cowgirls and bull riders looking to add to their world standings.


A complete list of this year’s competitors in bareback, saddle bronc, steer wrestling, tie-down roping, ladies barrel racing and bull riding is included in the attached Backgrounder.


About the Calgary Stampede

The Calgary Stampede celebrates the people, the animals, the land, the traditions and the values that make up the unique spirit of the west. The Calgary Stampede contributes to the quality of life in Calgary and southern Alberta through our world-renowned Stampede, year-round facilities, western events and several youth and agriculture programs. Exemplifying the theme We’re Greatest Together, we are a volunteer-supported, not-for-profit community organization that preserves and celebrates our western heritage, cultures and community spirit. All revenue is reinvested into Calgary Stampede programs and facilities.


- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Jennifer Dowler

Media Relations Coordinator

Calgary Stampede

T 403.261.0339

C 403.831.1618

E jdowler@calgarystampede.com


BACKGROUNDER - 2015 Calgary Stampede Rodeo Contestant List


Saddle Bronc Riding

Jim Berry-Rocky Mtn House, AB

Tyler Corrington –Guymon, OK

Jacobs Crawley-Stephenville, TX

Cody DeMoss- Heflin, LA

Heith DeMoss-Heflin, LA

Chad Ferley-Oelrichs, SD

Dustin Flundra-Pincher Creek, AB

Rylan Geiger-Duchess, AB

Chet Johnson-Douglas, WY

Sam Kelts-Millarville, AB

Taos Muncy-Corona, NM

Cort Scheer-Elsmere, NE

Wade Sundell-Boxholm, IA

Spencer Wright-Milford, UT

Cody Wright-Milford, UT

Jake Wright-Milford, UT

Jesse Wright-Milford, UT

Rusty Wright-Milford, UT

Bradly Harter-Weatherford, TX

Zeke Thurston-Big Valley, AB

Bareback Riding

Caleb Bennett-Morgan, UT

Kyle Bowers-Brooks, AB

Richie Champion-Woodlands, TX

Luke Creasy-Brownfield, AB

KayceeFeild -Spanish Fork, UT

Austin Foss-Terrebonne, OR

Matt Lait-Cayley, AB

Dusty LaValley-Bezanson, AB

Will Lowe-Canyon, TX

Ky  Marshall-Bowden, AB

Justin McDaniel-Porum, OK

Bobby Mote-Stephenville, TX

Tim O'Connell-Zwingle, IA

Steven Peebles-Redmond, OR

Winn Ratliff-Leesville, LA

Ty  Taypotat-Regina, SK

Jake Vold-Ponoka, AB

Ryan Gray-Cheney, WA

Tanner Aus-Granite Falls, MN

Clint Laye-Cadogan, AB

Ladies Barrel Racing

Sydney Daines-Innisfail, AB

Kassidy Dennison-Tohatchi, NM

Britany Diaz-Bismarck, ND

Callie duPerier-Boerne, TX

Christine Laughlin-Pueblo, CO

Julie Leggett-Kamloops, BC

Lisa Lockhart-Oelrichs, SD

Samantha Lyne-Stephenville, TX

Stephanie Mather-Medicine Hat, AB

Sarah Rose McDonald-Brunswick, GA

Michel McLeod-Whitesboro, TX

Tara Muldoon-Hinton, AB

Carlee Pierce-Stephenville, TX

Fallon Taylor-Whitesboro, TX

Mary Walker-Ennis, TX

Pamela Capper-Cheney, WA

Alexa Lake-Richmond, TX

Carmel  Wright-Hamilton, NZ

Sherry Cervi-Marana, AZ

Nancy Hunter-Neola, UT

Steer Wrestling

Bray Armes-Ponder, TX

Luke Branquinho-Los Alamos, CA

Curtis Cassidy-Donalda, AB

Cody Cassidy-Donalda, AB

Dakota Eldridge-Elko, NV

Ty Erickson-Helena, MT

Nick Guy-Sparta, WI

Clayton Hass-Terrell, TX

Kyle Irwin-Robertsdale, AL

K. C. Jones-Decatur, TX

Trevor Knowles-Mt Vernon, OR

Jesse Lawes-Provost, AB

Casey Martin-Sulpher, LA

Dru Melvin-Hebron, NE

Tanner Milan-Cochrane, AB

Justin Miller-Neepawa, MB

Dustin Walker-Aneroid, SK

Hunter Cure-Holliday, TX

Seth Brockman-Wheatland, TX

Clayton Moore-Pouce Coupe, BC

Tie Down Roping

Trevor Brazile-Decatur, TX

Randall Carlisle-Athens, LA

Curtis Cassidy-Donalda, AB

Tuf Cooper-Decatur, TX

Clint Cooper-Decatur, TX

Dean Edge-Rimbey, AB

Morgan Grant-Granton, ON

Adam Gray-Seymour, TX

Shane Hanchey-Sulphur, LA

Hunter Herrin-Apache, OK

Timber  Moore-Aubrey, TX

Cody Ohl-Hico, TX

Clint Robinson-Spanish Fork, UT

Lee Rombough-Sexsmith, AB

Matt Shiozawa-Chubbuck, ID

Cade Swor-Winnie, TX

Marty Yates-Stephenville, TX

Cory Solomon-Prairie View, TX

Ryan Jarrett-Comanche, OK

Fred Whitfield-Hockley, TX

Bull Riding

Trey Benton III-Rock Island, TX

Chad Besplug-Claresholm, AB

Dakota Buttar-Kindersley, SK

Joe Frost-Randlett, UT

Gage Gay-Staley, NC

J.W. Harris-Mullin, TX

Beau Hill-Columbia Falls, MT

Sage Steele Kimzey-Strong City, OK

Stetson Lawrence-Williston, ND

Mike Lee-Ft Worth, TX

Guilherme Marchi-Leme, BR

J.B. Mauney-Mooresville, NC

Cody Nance-Paris, TN

Tyler Pankewitz-Ponoka, AB

Scott Schiffner-Strathmore, AB

Cody Teel-Kountze, TX

Tyler Thomson-Black Diamond, AB

Matt Triplett-Columbia Falls, MT

Fabiano Vieira-Perola, BR

Joao Ricardo Vieira-Italinga, BR